City of Durango Homepage link

Creative Economy Commission

Creative Economy Commission Purview

  • Advise the City Council and Staff with respect to all aspects of planning, programming, procurement, installation, operations, maintenance, restoration, and promotion of City-owned public art projects and artworks;
  • Work in conjunction with other City Boards and Commissions as appropriate on public art projects on City-owned property and make recommendations as necessary to other Boards and Commissions and to City Council regarding public art and the Creative Economy;
  • Advise the City Council and Staff on matters related to arts, culture and the creative economy, including the development of policies, processes, and funding;
  • Manage the Public Art Collection including the maintenance, procurement and placement of pieces;
  • Work with key community partners on creative economy initiatives to educate, celebrate and strengthen the arts, culture and creative sectors of the local economy; and
  • Perform other duties as necessary to implement the Creative Economy Strategic Plan.
  • Oversee the Durango Creates Grant process
  • Guide the new Lodgers Tax: Arts and Culture program

Meeting Information

  • The meetings will be the last Tuesday of every month at 8:30am, unless the CEC votes to move it.  
  • Meetings currently are being held in-person with a virtual option via Zoom.
  • Request for Agenda Items will be sent to the CEC 2-weeks before the meeting.
  • Links to the meeting packets come out the Wednesday before the meeting.
  • All meetings are recorded for minute purposes.

City Council Liaison - Jessika Buell

Staff Liaison - Tommy Crosby

Member Roster

Name Term Appointing Authority
Scott Dw Smith (Chair) 3rd Term
June 01, 2021 to Jun 01, 2024)
City Council
Diane Sadler 1st Term
Jun 01, 2021 to May 31, 2024
City Council
Andreas P. Tischhauser 1st Term
Jun 01, 2021 to May 31, 2024
City Council
Michael Zac Robinson 1st Term
Aug 17, 2022 to May 31, 2024
City Council
Sarah E Tober 1st Term
May 31, 2022 to May 31, 2025
City Council
Brad Polt-Jones
1st Term
May 31, 2022 to May 31, 2025
City Council
Elsa Jagniecki 2nd Term
Jun 01, 2022 to Jun 01, 2025
City Council
Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow